A poster competition to adorn the walls of Cardiff’s state-of-the-art new ambulance station designed by Lawray architects has produced a winner.

Radnor Primary School took first place in the competition to produce drawings on the theme of using 999 appropriately for the new facility in Pontprennau, which opened in March.

Pupils have been presented with a defibrillator, sponsored by Lawray which will take pride of place at the school.

The £8 million Welsh Government-funded facility on the Avenue Industrial Estate is the new home of emergency and non-emergency crews previously based at the ageing Blackweir station.

The Trust’s Cycle Response Unit is also based in the new facility, which boasts a Wellbeing Suite for staff and a ‘Make Ready Depot’ where dedicated Fleet Assistants clean and re-stock vehicles, enabling clinicians to spend more time with patients.

Nia Cockburn, Project Manager at the Welsh Ambulance Service, said: “It was important for us to come together with the local community as we moved into the area and established our presence here.

“We teamed up with our Patient Experience and Community Involvement Team to come up with a fun way to integrate with the local area, and a poster competition was the result.

“It was brilliant fun judging all the entries and picking a top five, especially when we got to visit the school children to bring them their awards.

“The kids loved the display ambulance that we brought along to the event, so they’re really excited now to visit the station in the summer which is another way to say thank you for their participation.

“We would like to extend a special thanks to Radnor Primary School for their involvement, particularly Kane Morgan for arranging the whole school’s participation in the competition.”

Lawray director Chris Evans said: “Having worked closely with the team at the Welsh Ambulance Service to develop the new Cardiff station, it was fitting that Lawray Architects sponsor the prize.

“It was a pleasure to award Miss Bakri and the local community a brand new defibrillator.”

The competition’s runners-up were also from Radnor Primary School and Christchurch Breakfast Club, Jayden Philip, Isla Sharp, Lewis Sainsbury and Flo Hall, where pupils have been presented with the Cardiff edition of the Monopoly board game and a certificate for their efforts.

Latest Stories

All stories